Tags

, , , , , , ,

“US toy store Toys ‘R’ Us sells range including figure of a drug-dealer holding tiny rocks of crystal meth based on the television series Breaking Bad”

Some of the Breaking Bad action figures on sale

Anything wrong with this picture? Really?!

What is our society coming to? If violence and guns were not enough, we are now promoting “crystal meth”?   I didn’t even know what crystal meth was until recently.  I grew up in the late 80s and 90s. As a teenager we knew “drugs” were out there and we were strictly told to stay away from them. “Drugs” were taboo and something we didn’t speak of.  Unfortunately, I’m not sure we can say the same thing about this generation.

As parents, we strive so hard to keep our kids away from anything “bad”, and protect them from it, only to soon realize, they will venture out into this world and face these issues. Now that they are getting older, I am realizing my protection and care can only go so far.  I cant be with them 24/7 to watch over them. I have to let them go. I am terrified for my kids.

Now back to Toys R US selling these figurines. Taken from the article:

“Toys R Us did not comment to The Telegraph. A spokesman told NBC News: “The product packaging clearly notes that the items are intended for ages 15 and up. The toys are located in the adult action figure area of our stores.”

15 and up?! That is ok? NO! it is not ok! This is very worrisome! Firstly, 15 year old is still a teenager.  Have we forgotten how it felt like to be one? the social and peer pressure we had to deal with? Topping that off with our hormones raging wild! and now adding “crystal meth” to the equation. Being a teenager is hard enough, now having toys out there–holding drugs. What is that telling them? Secondly, say this 15 year old, brings it home and their younger siblings get a hold of it. Aren’t you then indirectly opening this to the younger crowd? I know my son and daughter talk about so and so’s older siblings all the time. They look up to them and find them cool. It’s true we all did growing up.

Society plays a huge a role in our child’s life, whether we like it or not. It does shape us and everyone in it. As a parent, I am just appalled at knowing such figurines are out there in the stores for my kids to run into and having me to explain why such toys exist, where we have been shopping for baby toys, legos, dolls and superman.  Its just heartbreaking and extremely disappointing.

Article below:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/northamerica/usa/11174844/Parents-outraged-as-Toys-R-Us-sells-crystal-meth-Breaking-Bad-dolls.html

